Requesting Your Medical Records

Download a Release Form >
Instructions for Completing the Authorization to Exchange Information >

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: Can I receive copies of my own medical record?
A written request needs to be filed with our Health Information Management – Release of Information Team. You can download the Authorization (link to authorization), print it out, enter your own name and address information as the organization with which to exchange the information. Follow the directions attached to the authorization. The request must be signed and dated by the patient, parent, or legal guardian.

Q: Can I receive copies of my child’s medical records?
A written request needs to be filed with our Health Information Management – Release of Information Team. You can download the Authorization (link to authorization), print it out, enter your own name and address information as the organization with which to exchange the information. If your child is 14-17 years of age and was treated for drug and/or alcohol related services they must sign the release. If your child is 18 years of age or older they must sign the release or the guardian must attach legal paperwork showing that they have legal guardianship of the adult. The request must be signed and dated by the patient, parent, or legal guardian.

Q: How long does it take for the request to be processed?
Prairie St. John’s utilizes paper records for our charts. We will process your request as quickly as possible. ND state law and CMS guidelines allow 30 days to process the request for records that are stored on-site and 60 days for records that are stored off-site. If you have a need to have the records in less than 30 days, please attach a separate sheet to the Authorization providing the date records are needed by and why. We will do our best to accommodate your request.

Q: I need records sent to the North Dakota Department of Transportation, what do I need to do?
If you had a substance use evaluation completed at Prairie St. John’s and need information sent to the North Dakota Department of Transportation to get your license renewed the North Dakota Department of Transportation has a form for the Report of Addiction Evaluation that you can download from their site at: http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn09585.pdf
Complete the form and send to Prairie St. John’s, Attn: Medical Records – ROI, 510 4th St S, Fargo, ND 58103 or fax to 701-476-7218 or 701-280-5798.
If you completed the recommended treatment at our facility within 6 months of the evaluation, you will also need to download this form from the North Dakota Department of Transportation: http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/sfn09997.pdf
Complete the form and send to Prairie St. John’s, Attn: Medical Records – ROI, 510 4th St S, Fargo, ND 58103 or fax to 701-476-7218 or 701-280-5798.

Q: I need medical records sent to the Minnesota Department of Transportation, what do I do?
The Minnesota Department of Transportation requests a copy of your substance use evaluation be sent to them. A written request needs to be filed with our Health Information Management – Release of Information Team. You can download the Authorization (link to authorization), print it out, enter the MN Department of Transportation as the organization with which to exchange the information and choose Yes to send the Substance Use evaluation. Follow the remaining instructions on completing the authorization.

Q: How long do you keep my medical records?
North Dakota state law requires that medical records are kept for 10 years following the last date the patient was seen at the facility. If the patient was a minor at the time of the service, we will keep the records until they are 21 or 10 years following the last date seen, whichever is longer. For example, if the patient was 8 at the time they were at our facility we would keep those records until they reach the age of 21, which would be 13 years since they were last seen.

Q: Why does a minor between 14 and 17 need to sign the release if there are drug and/or alcohol related records in their file?
North Dakota state law recognizes that a minor age 14 and older has the right to consent to treatment for drug and/or alcohol related services, thus they must be the one to consent to the release of that information in their chart. As this information may be found throughout the documentation in the chart, we are unable to release any records without their consent.